Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies

So, I made this recipe a few weeks ago and have not had time to post it yet.  However, as I am sitting outside the theater for the show I am working on, I figured what better time spent than time working on my blog and getting this delicious recipe out to all of you!  (On a side note, after you are done baking these delicious cookies, get yourself to a computer and support your local college’s theater department.  We work hard and love having full houses!)  Anyways the cookies you need to bake are called, Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Yes, you heard me right, I used avocado.  I am telling you, this recipe is so deceivingly delicious.  And I promise all you can taste are is the delicious chocolate. Although, I must warn you I changed this recipe a bit from its original

I am not going to lie; I tried this recipe because I was curious. You don’t exactly think of chocolate and avocados going together, but NEWSFLASH: they totally do! I gave the recipe out to four or five people already because I think it is that good.  Also another fun fact is that it is completely clean and gluten free.  So many people can win by making this yummy recipe.  I promise you I am not lying.  Have a health conscious family member?  Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies!  Need a really delicious chocolate fix?  Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies!  I am telling you, you will love them!

So, here it goes…

Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies

Image

Ingredients (adapted from The Smoothie Lover)

  • 1 medium avocado (ripe)
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup dark cocoa powder
  • A handful of dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp. water
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Directions

Preheat oven to 350° F.

In a bowl of a stand mixer, mix together avocado and brown sugar until smooth (making sure that there are minimal avocado chunks). Add in the egg and mix until combined.

Image

Mix in the cocoa powder. In a small bowl or glass dissolve the baking soda in water and add to the dough. Mix well. Finally add in the chocolate chips and make sure they are well combined before placing on a baking sheet.

Avocado Cookie 2

Using two spoons place dollops of cookie dough in a baking sheet with parchment paper. The cookie won’t spread as much as usual cookies when baking, so make sure to flatten them out a bit with the back of the spoon.

Avocado Cookie 3

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies don’t stick as much to the paper as they did before baking.

Once the cookies are cool, store in a container in the fridge.

Enjoy!!

Avocado Cookie 6

4 thoughts on “Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Thanks for this. I recently a senru about healthy eating, avocado and chocolate. so what a surprise to come across your recipe. I hope you are happy with the reblogging.

Leave a Reply

